Bekey Lecture

The Computer Science Department’s annual keynote lecture has been named for George Bekey, the roboticist known for the extraordinary versatility and exceptional quality of his work during his long career at the Viterbi School.

Bekey is the 2005 winner of the IEEE Technical Field Award in Robotics and Automation, the highest technical award in its area. He was one of the founders of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society and the first editor of its Transactions.

Bekey was the chair of electrical engineering/systems at USC when the department was first formed, and a former chair of the computer science department. He was also instrumental in the founding of the Viterbi School’s Department of Biomedical Engineering.

Previous Speakers

Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego

Karen Ostrum George Distinguished Service Professor in Computational Engineering, Rice University

Google Senior Fellow, Google’s Knowledge Group, Google, Inc.

Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science and Bioengineering Rice University

Tisch University Professor Department of Computer Science Department of Information Science Cornell University

University of Pennsylvania

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of EECS and Statistics at University of California, Berkeley

IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics at Cornell University

Fredkin Professor of AI & Machine Learning Chair Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh

Mozah Bint Nasser University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics, Carnegie Mellon University

Bill and Melinda Gates Chair of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington